By night

I went to the excellent Local History Talk in the Chantry House last night. The subject was the Normans in Wallingford. On the way back I took some photos of our lovely town by night. I went by way of New Street and the river. Ironically when I got home the picture when my laptop booted had changed and it was of a Castle on a mound) Here are the photos I took.

The Hotel Relais

You can see the false window in the Hotel Relais (Red Lion Hotel) on the top right of this picture. It would have been put there to avoid window tax in day of yore!

Moving along the river and getting close to New Street now

Part of the Brakspear Brewery now turned into homes!

Anne Boleyn and Tudor Cottages c1470 in New Street

The Kenton Theatre 1805, 1632-1790 buildings on this site formed part of the workhouse. From 1813 it was used as a Non Conformist Church, A Church of England School and a Church Hall ( Credit “A walk round Henley on Thames” by the Henley Archaeological and Historical Group” Third Edition

Finally Barnaby Cottages, Charity of 1582. Originally tow houses, but rebuilt as five in 1788

One thought on “By night

  1. Lyn Eymor October 13, 2023 / 16:57

    Good afternoon Keith,
    I’ve decided to thank you for your last email personally! I hope that is OK with you.
    Lovely photos – such interesting buildings in Henley (and Wallingford!) I went on a tour around Wallingford with a guide from the museum – so interesting!
    (That was when I could keep up with everyone!)
    I hope that your wife is doing OK.
    Best wishes to you both,
    Lyn

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.